A Look at Football’s Top 10 Most Valuable Trophies


Football, the world’s most popular sport, transcends the game played on the pitch, as teams vie for some of the most expensive trophies in the sporting world. 


According to report from vanguard, these trophies represent not only glory, history, and triumph but also significant monetary value due to their craftsmanship and the precious materials used in their creation. Here’s a look at the top 10 most expensive football trophies globally:

1. FIFA World Cup Trophy

The FIFA World Cup Trophy is arguably football’s most prestigious award. Standing at 36.8 cm tall and weighing 6.1 kg, it is made of 18-carat gold with a base featuring two layers of malachite. Created by Italian artist Silvio Gazzaniga in 1974, its estimated value is around $20 million, owing to its gold content and historical significance.

2. Copa Libertadores Trophy

Introduced in 1960, the Copa Libertadores Trophy is South America’s premier club trophy, contested by 18 clubs. Crafted from sterling silver with silver-coated bronze, it is valued at $8.5 million.

3. UEFA Europa League Trophy

The UEFA Europa League Trophy, awarded to the winner of Europe’s second-tier club competition, features a silver and yellow base and is valued at $4.5 million.

4. FA Cup Trophy

The FA Cup Trophy, awarded in England’s oldest football competition, is made of sterling silver and valued at $1,180,000. Arsenal was the first team to claim it and holds the record for the most FA Cup titles.

5. Ballon d’Or Trophy

The Ballon d’Or, crafted by a French jeweler in 1956, honors the best football player of the year. Weighing 12 kg, it is made of brass and gold. Lionel Messi has won it a record eight times, followed by Cristiano Ronaldo with five.

6. Africa Cup of Nations Trophy

The African Cup of Nations Trophy holds significant importance in African football. Valued at $150,000, it is currently held by Ivory Coast, who claimed the title in 2024. Egypt is the tournament’s most successful nation.

7. Serie A Trophy

Known as the Scudetto, the Serie A Trophy is awarded annually to Italy’s top football club. Created by artisan Ettore Calvelli in 1960, it features a blue sodalite base and gold rings, weighing 8 kg and standing 58 cm tall, valued at $66,000. Juventus FC has won it 36 times, with Inter Milan being the current holders.

8. Bundesliga Meisterschale

The Bundesliga Meisterschale, awarded to the top team in Germany’s Bundesliga, was created in 1964 by art professor Elisabeth Treskow. FC Köln was the first to lift this shield, which weighs 11 kg and includes a 71.98-carat tourmaline, silver, and gold, valued at $57,102.

9. UEFA Champions League Trophy

The UEFA Champions League Trophy is the most prestigious club football award. Made entirely of silver and valued at $15,000, it is contested by 32 top teams from various European leagues, symbolizing immense respect and leadership in football.

10. English Premier League Trophy

The English Premier League Trophy, crafted from silver, gilded silver, an African gemstone, and malachite, costs $10,000. Currently held by Manchester City, who have won it four times consecutively, it is a symbol of excellence in one of the world’s oldest and most prestigious leagues.

Leave a Comment