Referee Szymon Marciniak, the man in charge of the 2022 World Cup Final between Argentina and France last Sunday, has come forward to confess a mistake he made during the match.
Despite being praised by pundits and fans for his overall performance – which included awarding three correct penalties and booking French striker Marcus Thuram without referring to Video Assistant Referees (VAR) – Marciniak believes that his performance was not flawless.
“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.
“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.
“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.
“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.
The 41-year-old from Poland became the first official from his country to oversee football’s grandest stage.