Premier League Star Omitted As Spain Announce Provisional Euro 2024 Squad

Premier League Star Omitted As Spain Announce Provisional Euro 2024 Squad

Spain have announced a 29-man provisional squad ahead of the 2024 European Championship in Germany.

Many major nations, including the Netherlands, England, Italy, and France, have already revealed their provisional squads.

Spain, the 2008 and 2012 Euro winners, revealed their preliminary squad on Monday morning.

Tottenham Hotspur defender, Pedro Porro was left off the roster as Premier League trio of Rodri, David Raya, and Marc Cucurella made the list.

Pau Cubarsi, Lamine Yamal, and Fermin Lopez, the Barcelona wonderkids, were all included. But Pablo Gavi was not, as he is still recovering from an anterior cruciate ligament injury.

Former Stoke City and Newcastle United forward, Joselu, who currently plies his trade with Real Madrid was also included in the team.

According to Sport Bible, Spain boss Luis De la Fuente said in his press conference: “All players have the same options to be in the Euro 2024, I want to make that clear from the beginning. This larger list is to minimize risks and also cover any unforeseen events.

“We are protecting ourselves and covering any contingency that could arise. Yes, there is overpopulation now, but the decisions that must be made to go to the 26 of the Euro Cup will be made.”

Spain’s provisional Euro 2024 squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Unai Simon, Alex Remiro, David Raya.

Defenders: Jesus Navas, Dani Carvajal, Robin Le Normand, Aymeric Laporte, Nacho Fernandez, Dani Vivian, Pau Cubarsi, Alejandro Grimaldo, Marc Cucurella.

Midfielders: Martin Zubimendi, Rodri Hernandez, Mikel Merino, Fabian Ruiz, Pedri, Marcos Llorente, Fermin Lopez, Aleix Garcia, Alex Baena.

Forwards: Lamine Yamal, Ferran Torres, Dani Olmo, Nico Williams, Ayoze Perez, Alvaro Morata, Joselu Mato, Mikel Oyarzabal.

Leave a Comment