Diri coasting home to victory, leads Sylva with 64,402 votes with 2 LGs left

Douye 1

Governor Douye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) is leading his main challenger, Timipre Sylva of the All Progressives Congress (APC) with 64,402 votes in Saturday’s Bayelsa governorship election.

The results of two local governments-Brass and South Ijaw are still being expected, with results from six councils so far declared.

Diri has won five of the Local Governments while Sylva has won one.

The governor polled 35,501 votes from Samgbama LG to win the council. Sylva scored 6,608 votes to come second while the LP’s candidate got 217 votes.

Sylva won in Nembe LG with 22,248 votes, with Diri polling 4,556 and LP, 113 votes.

In Ekeremor, the governor won, polling 23,172 votes, while Sylva scored 8,445 votes to come second, with LP garnering 50 votes.

In Kolokuma Opokuma, which is Diri’s Local Government, he defeated Sylva of the  by wide margin.

Diri polled 18,465 votes to win the council, while Sylva scored 5,349 votes and LP’s Udengs Eradiri, 22 votes.

The governor also won in Ogbia Local Government, which is the council of former President Goodluck Jonathan. He garnered 18,435 votes to beat Sylva, who scored 16,319 votes, while Eradiri got 57 votes.

In the State’s capital, Yenagoa, Diri polled 37,777 votes to floor Sylva, who got 14,534 votes while Eradiri garnered 244 votes.

Leave a Comment