INEC adds Sylva to Bayelsa governorship candidates list

INEC adds Sylva to Bayelsa governorship candidates list

An amended list of candidates has been released by the Independent National Electoral Commission for Bayelsa State governorship election.


All Progressives Congress’ candidate, Timipre Sylva and his running mate, Joshua Maciver were added on the list shared on INEC’s website on Monday, November 6.


Recall that Sylva’s name was initially removed after a Federal High Court sitting in Abuja disqualified him from participating in the state governorship election.


Justice Donatus Okorowo, in the judgment, ruled that Sylva having been sworn in twice and ruled for five years as governor of the state, would breach the 1999 Constitution as amended if allowed to contest again. He ruled that Sylva was not qualified to run in the poll because if he wins and gets sworn in, would spend more than eight years in office as governor of the state.


The ruling was however upturned by a court of appeal

Leave a Comment