Ballon d’Or 2023: All winners as Messi beats Haaland to main award [Full list]

Inter Miami superstar, Lionel Messi, has now won the Ballon d’Or for a record-extending eighth time.

Messi was announced the winner for this year ahead of Erling Haaland (Manchester City) and Kylian Mbappe (PSG).

He first earned it in 2009 and then in 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2021.

The 36-year-old’s triumph comes mostly due to his exploits with Argentina at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, where they beat France in the final.

Haaland, who scored 52 goals last season as City won the treble in the 2022/2023 campaign, finished second in the voting and won the Gerd Muller Trophy given to the best striker of the year.

Messi’s Argentina team-mate, Emiliano Martinez, won the Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper.

Real Madrid midfielder, Jude Bellingham, went home with the Kopa Trophy as the world’s best U-21 footballer.

Leave a Comment