APC Yobe North: Lawan Wins, As Supreme Court Delivers Dissent Verdict

According to VanguardNews, the Nigerian Supreme Court on Monday, in a three-judge-to-two majority ruling, overturned the Abuja Division Court of Appeals ruling that on Nov.28, 2022, had upheld Bashir Sherrif Machina as the authentic APC senator nominee for Yobe North at the upcoming generals Choose.

However, Judges Adamu Jauro and Emma Agim disagreed with the main decision and consequently entered a dissenting verdict, dismissing APC’s appeal and affirming the concurrent findings of fact by the trial and appellate courts.

Recall that Judge Monica Dongban-Mensen, who presided over a three-member panel of the Court of Appeal, returned the affirmative in an APC (Appellant) appeal against the decision of Judge Fadimatu Aminu of the Damaturu Federal Court, who officiated September 28, 2022, Bashir explained Sheriff Machina as the winner of the party-organized primary on May 28, 2022.

However, after the APC presidential primary lost to Bola Tinubu, the party chose Senate President Ahmed Lawan to replace Machina.

But Machina insisted he would not step down for Senate president. Amid the controversy, the APC submitted the Senate President’s name to the Independent National Electoral Commission as their nominee for Senator for Yobe North. Dissatisfied with his party’s decision, Machina went to court to seek redress.Specifically, in his lawsuit, Machina asked the court to declare him a validly elected APC senator nominee for the Yobe North Senatorial District.

Judge Aminu had annulled the parallel primary that Lawan had produced on June 9, 2022, and insisted that the APC’s National Labor Committee conduct a valid primary on May 28, which was won by Bashir Sheriff Machina.

Consequently, the trial judge ordered APC to forward Machina’s name to INEC as an authentic primary winner for Yobe North.

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *