Carabao Cup: 15 clubs qualify for fourth round as Arsenal, Chelsea crash out [Full list]

At least fifteen (15) teams have qualified for this season’s Carabao Cup fourth round stage following the conclusion of Wednesday’s third round fixtures.

The likes of Wolves, Nottingham Forest, Brighton, Southampton, Newcastle United, Manchester City, Liverpool and Blackburn Rovers have all advanced to the fourth round after winning their matches on Wednesday.

Wolves defeated Leeds United 1-0, Nottingham Forest won 2-0 against Tottenham Hotspur, and Brighton defeated Arsenal 3-1.

Southampton won 6-5 on penalty against Sheffield Wednesday following a 1-1 draw, and Newcastle United defeated Crystal Palace 3-2 on penalty after a goalless draw.

Manchester City defeated Chelsea 2-0 at the Etihad Stadium, Liverpool defeated Derby County 3-2 on penalty after a 0-0 draw, and West Ham United lost to Blackburn Rovers 10-9 on penalty after a 2-2 draw.

The eight teams have now joined the seven teams: Lincoln City, Bournemouth, MK Dons, Leicester City, Gillingham, Burnley and Charlton, in the fourth round after they qualified on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, the last Carabao Cup third round fixture will continue today (Thursday) when Manchester United will face Aston Villa at Old Trafford.

The winner between Man United and Aston Villa will join the 15 teams already in the fourth round.

Leave a Comment