World Cup prize money: How much do the World Cup winners and runners-up get?

Over 700 players from 32 countries will participate in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar with an eye on the top prize. The world football governing body, FIFA, has allocated millions of dollars for the World Cup prize money. Besides, countries will also receive some amount for their participation in the tournament.

FIFA World Cup 2022 winners’ reward
The World Cup trophy in display during a rehearsal of the final draw at Doha Exhibition Center on 1st April 2022, in Doha, Qatar. Photo: Michael Regan

Football clubs will also benefit while their players are involved in the competition. The tournament is scheduled to take place in Qatar from 20 November to 18 December 2022. This article reveals details of the FIFA World Cup prize money and how much teams will pocket during the event.

What is the prize money for FIFA World Cup?

FIFA has allocated $440 million as World Cup prize money in 2022. It is an increase of $40m compared to the 2018 edition. In 2014, $358m was on offer for the winning teams. However, the men’s event has come under criticism compared to what women get in the corresponding event.

The 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup had total prize money of $30 million, and the winner received $4 million. The 2023 women’s event will have $60 million in prize money, less than four times the men’s 2022 edition. It will be hosted in Australia and New Zealand.

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 prize money

Besides the winners, every team in the tournament will receive payment for their participation, which increases as they progress. Here is a breakdown of the World Cup prize money in 2022.

Place Prize money
Winner $42 million
Runner-up $30 million
3rd place $27 million
4th place $25 million
5th-8th place $17 million
9th-16th place $13 million
17th-32nd place $9 million

2022 World Cup sponsors

The cost of organizing a global showpiece like the World Cup is often high and requires support from sponsors and stakeholders. Some of the companies that have injected millions to boost FIFA’s budget include:

  • Budweiser (alcoholic beverage and part of Anheuser-Busch InBev)
  • Byju’s (educational technology)
  • (cryptocurrency platform)
  • Hisense (electronics & home appliances)
  • McDonald’s (restaurants & real estate)
  • Mengniu Dairy (dairy products)
  • Vivo (consumer electronics)

How much will the 2022 World Cup winner get?

FIFA World Cup prize money
The French team gets the gold medal after winning the 2018 FIFA World Cup at Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow, Russia, on 15th July 2018. Photo: Ulrik Pedersen

Over the years, the winners’ pay cheque has increased significantly. FIFA World Cup 2022 winners’ reward is a record $42 million. In 2018, France received $38m for winning the tournament, and runner-up Croatia earned $28 million.

Year Winner Prize money
2022 $42 million
2018 France $38 million
2014 Germany $35 million
2010 Spain $30 million
2006 Italy $20 million
2002 Brazil $8m million
1998 France $6m million
1994 Brazil $4m million
1990 Germany $3.5m million
1986 Argentina $2.8m million
1982 Italy $2.2m million

Do World Cup players get paid?

Many players dream of playing in the World Cup to show their skills to the world and make more money. Players earn different amounts depending on the arrangements of the football federations of their countries. Some countries even promise their players bonuses if they win the tournament or reach a given stage.

Most expensive World Cup in history

FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 prize money
A delegation at the kick-off of the Trophy Tour in Mexico, at the Felipe Angeles International Airport (AIFA) in Santa Lucia, Zumpango, Mexico State, on 15th October 2022. Photo: Claudio Cruz

The Qatar tournament is the most expensiveWorld Cup event, with an estimated revenue budget of $220 billion. The high cost of building new stadiums, renovations and fixing infrastructure and technology has contributed to the massive cost. It will be the second time the event has been hosted in Asia.

Year Hosts Budget
2022 Qatar $220 billion
2018 Russia $14.2 billion
2014 Brazil $11.6 billion
2010 South Africa $3.6 billion
2006 Germany $4.6 billion
2002 South Korea and Japan $7 billion
1998 France $2.33 billion
1994 USA $500 million
1990 Italy $4 billion

Leave a Comment