18 Governors Who Won’t Be Returning After 2023 Elections And 10 Who Are Seeking Second Terms (Full List)

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has scheduled March 11, 2023, for the conduct of state elections (governorship and state houses of assembly) in Nigeria.

The approved list of candidates has also been published on the INEC website.

In total, 18 political parties will be fielding 837 candidates for the 28 governors’ offices come the 2023 elections according to the INEC list.

INEC will be conducting elections for twenty-eight (28) states during the March 2023 round of elections.

However, eighteen (18) of the incumbent state governors would not be retaining their seats beyond the 2023 polls as they would have concluded their constitutionally allowed maximum of eight years (two terms) by May 9, 2023.

These outgoing Governors are:

1. Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia)

2. Nyesom Wike (Rivers)

3. Ben Ayade (Cross River)

4. Udom Emmanuel (Akwa Ibom)

5. Ifeanyi Okowa (Delta)

6. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Enugu)

7. Dave Umahi (Ebonyi)

8. Aminu Masari (Katsina)

9. Samuel Ortom (Benue)

10. Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna)

11. Umar Ganduje (Kano)

12. Aminu Tambuwal (Sokoto)

13. Abubakar Sani Bello (Niger)

14. Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa)

15. Dairus Ishaku (Taraba)

16. Atiku Bagudu (Kebbi)

17. Simon Lalong (Plateau)

18. Mai Mala Buni (Yobe)

Ten incumbent Governors would however be seeking a second term in office having secured their party’s tickets to seek re-election.

They are:

1. Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos)

2. Seyi Makinde (Oyo)

3. Ahmadu Fintiri (Adamawa)

4. Bala Mohammed (Bauchi)

5. Babagana Zulum (Borno)

6. Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe)

7. AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (Kwara)

8. Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa)

9. Dapo Abiodun (Ogun)

10. Bello Matawalle (Zamfara).

Post navigation

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *