Reports: list of African countries to vote for the Ballon d’Or


The Ballon d’Or has undergone some changes since the last controversies over the awarding of this trophy. The number of voting countries decreased from 170 to 100 countries. Further more The African continent will have only 21 voters for the Golden Ball. In competition with Benzema for this trophy Sadio Mané can count on these 21 countries.


France Football wants to guarantee more transparency in future editions of the Ballon d’Or. Changes have been noted since the controversy over Lionel Messi’s sixth Ballon d’Or. In addition The number of voting countries has changed. In Africa, it is on the FIFA ranking that France Football will base itself on to name the 21 African countries which will vote.

The 21 African Nations that will vote this year:

Senegal, Morocco, Nigeria, Egypt, Tunisia, Cameroon, Algeria, Mali, Ivory Coast, Burkina Faso, Ghana, DR Congo, South Africa, Cape Verde, Guinea, Gabon, Benin, Uganda, Zambia, Congo, Equatorial Guinea.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here